VITAM IMPENDERE VERO, IVVENALIS

South Park Fan’s Quote of the Day

Commenting on rumors that the show South Park is nearing its end, viewer “sanbi” says:

Let The Simpsons end instead…

This is in reference to the last episode of South Park (the mid-season finale) called “You’re Getting Old,” which aired Wednesday.

I share sanbi’s sentiments and agree with many other comments about the episode.

Here’s another:

Huffpo commenter:

I could barely bring myself to stand immediatel­y after that episode, I just sat there on the couch staring gloomily at the screen for 30 seconds (maybe longer). Then I looked out the window for another 30 seconds. Hell, my eyes were even misted over. I’ve seen every South Park, and I cannot remember being so…stunn­ed at the ending of an episode. I’m sure the song playing over the final scenes had something to do with it, but I don’t think there was any subtlety in the conversati­on between Randy and Sharon; the meaning was clear: Trey Parker and Matt Stone have (understan­dably) lost much of their passion after 15 seasons. I’m sure they love South Park like an actual child, but they must be burned out. How could they not be? I can’t imagine writing and performing the same show for FIVE seasons, let alone FIFTEEN. Sigh. I just hope… I honestly don’t know what I hope for the show’s future. That episode bummed the shit out of me…

I agree that Randy and Sharon’s conversation probably represented some of Matt and Trey’s thoughts, however, I think that the various featured characters in the episode each act as a mouth-piece for a different point of view. For example, Stan’s new view of the world, Kyle’s desire to just have a good time, and even the two ‘britches’ thieves. Let me explain. In the commentary for “The China Problem” Matt and Trey say that they don’t want to do to the boys what Spielberg and Lucas did to Indiana Jones. When Randy starts to destroy his underwear, the two characters set out to “set those britches free,” just as Matt and Trey realize that when they start to desecrate their characters they will need to be set free.

But it seems the show will continue for at least another 2 and a half seasons. According to this interview of Matt and Trey, in which their musical is the main topic, they have a contract with Comedy Central that lasts through 2013:

at this point, with just eight days left before the premiere, that’s [restoring the reputation of Broadway is] the last thing on the writers’ minds. Parker dreams of taking a vacation “somewhere in the Caribbean,” while Stone just wants to “go look at a wall and check out.”

He won’t have long to do so. A week after they leave New York around March 28, the pair hurtles [sic] into the 15th season of South Park, part of a new pact with Comedy Central that keeps the show on the air through 2013 and is said to be even richer than their previous $75 million deal. They’ll have just one week to create each episode, with no time to prep.

If this article is correct, then the 15th season will conclude in the Fall of 2011, there will be a 16th season in 2012 and a 17th in 2013. What direction the show will take, however, is not clear.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.